WPSL Alumna, Jaelin Howell Wins 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy

Published May 27, 2021

The United Soccer Coaches presented WPSL Alumna, Jaelin Howell, with the 2020-2021 MAC Hermann Trophy during the Missouri Athletic Club's annual banquet Thursday evening. The Hermann Trophy is awarded to the National Players of the Year in NCAA Division I men's and women's soccer resulting as college soccer's top honor. Gloire Amanda of Oregon State was honored as the male recipient of the award.

Howell, a junior from Florida State, is a former player of Motor City FC. Since her time with the WPSL and Motor City FC, Howell has earned multiple accolades honoring her skill and opportunites to further her soccer career.

In November 2020 during the USWNT match verse the Netherlands, Howell made her international debut with the American squad coming off the bench as sub during the second half of the match.

Last Monday, Howell and the Florida State Seminoles played in the NCAA College Women's Soccer Championship as they faced Santa Clara University. The match went into a penalty shootout where Santa Clara claimed the title. Eleven other WPSL players and alumna were on the Florida State squad as well as another seven on the Santa Clara side.

Howell has also been named the United Soccer Coaches Division I All-American First Team as well as named to the All-ACC First Team and ACC Midfielder of the Year. 



   Author:   Nichole Singleton, @nicholemcreativ (twitter)
WPSL Director of Communications & Creative Services