skip navigation

Columbus Eagles FC named WPSL 2018 Social Media Team of the Year

By WPSL Communications, 09/07/18, 3:00PM CDT


OKLAHOMA CITY – Columbus Eagles FC was named the 2018 WPSL Social Media Team of the Year, the league announced Friday.


Grant Burkhardt, the Eagles’ media director, oversaw a diverse range of content, including 56 videos uploaded to its YouTube channel this season signifying player accomplishments, match previews and highlights.


The Eagles used their social media platforms to engage the Columbus community, most recently using its voice as a leader in the #SaveTheCrew movement.


“We had quite the challenge selecting a winner among our 100 clubs this season,” WPSL Creative Content Director Jeramie McPeek said. “Our clubs did a great job elevating their social media platforms this season, so it is rewarding to see so many of them producing such great content to engage our fans on social media. And Columbus Eagles FC are at the forefront of this engagement.”


The WPSL is in its 22nd season and is the largest women’s soccer league in the world with more than 100 clubs from coast-to-coast.  WPSL rosters feature elite collegiate, post-collegiate, international and standout prep student-athletes.  Many of the United States’ most accomplished women’s players have played in the WPSL, including household names such as Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach, Megan Rapinoe, Julie Foudy and Brandi Chastain.


Quick Links

Follow WPSL

Recent News