skip navigation

2019 WPSL Region and Conference Alignment Revealed

By WPSL Communications, 02/28/19, 1:00PM CST


OKLAHOMA CITY – The Women’s Premier Soccer League has revealed the 2019 conference alignment, consisting of an all-time high 119 clubs competing in the league’s 22nd season to become the champion of the world’s largest women’s soccer league.


The regular season begins in early May with individual club schedules to be released within the coming weeks.


The four region names remain the same – West, Central, South and East. However, the composition of each varies significantly from the 2018 season with the Central and East Regions seeing the biggest changes.


The WPSL, through expansion and realignment, continues to focus upon significantly reducing travel during the regular season to allow clubs to lower its expenses and reinvest in their organizations. In 2019, clubs in 16 of the 20 conferences/divisions will travel no further than six hours for their longest road trip during the regular season.


The Central Region features a newly created Mountain Conference, consisting of six clubs (four expansion) from Colorado and Utah. The 11 clubs from Texas and Oklahoma are now two divisions within a conference instead of separate conferences.


There will also be a new Central Region Champion in 2019, for Chicago Red Stars Reserves is part of three former Central clubs that have moved to the East Region. Also, the Mid-Atlantic Division now has two divisions, consisting of clubs from Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland and Virginia.


The West Region sees the addition of the San Diego and Desert Divisions in the Pac South Conference. The San Diego division consists solely of San Diego-based clubs, reducing road match one-way travel times by more than five hours.


The South Region has the most similarity from 2018 within its alignment. The Carolinas Conference, with two additional expansion clubs, now has two divisions, and Alabama FC has moved from the Gulf Conference to the Southeast Conference.


For a full breakdown of the region and conference alignments, visit


The WPSL is in its 22nd season and is the largest women’s soccer league in the world with 119 clubs from coast-to-coast.  WPSL rosters feature elite collegiate, post-collegiate, international and standout prep student-athletes. Many of the United States’ most accomplished women’s players have played in the WPSL, including household names such as Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach, Megan Rapinoe, Julie Foudy and Brandi Chastain.



Quick Links

Follow WPSL

Recent News

Tag(s): Home  News  Clubs  Chicago City SC  Chicago Red Stars Reserves  Dakota Fusion FC  Fire SC 98  Milwaukee Torrent  MapleBrook Fury  Fire & Ice SC  KC Courage  St. Louis Lions  FC Dallas  Tulsa Soccer Club  Oklahoma City FC  Texas Spurs FC  FC Wichita  AHFC Royals Women  Lonestar SC  Texas Titans  TTi Bluebonnets  San Antonio Blossoms  Old Dominion Cesena USA  New York Athletic Club  SUSA FC  Rhode Island Rogues  PSA Wildcats  Torch FC  Hershey FC  Lehigh Valley Tempest  Penn Fusion SA  Philly Fever  AAFC Lumberjills  Cincinnati Sirens FC  Cleveland Ambassadors  Columbus Eagles FC  FC Pride  Indy Saints FC  Motor City FC  Pittsburgh Hotspurs FC  Beaufort County FC  Independence Central  Charleston Fleet FC  Independence North  Oak City United  Independence South  Asheville City SC  North Carolina Fusion U-23  FC Surge  Florida Gulf Coast Dutch Lions  Florida Krush  Florida Sol FC  Florida Tropics SC  Puerto Rico Pride FC  Team Boca Blast  Memphis Lobos  Nashville Rhythm  Peachtree City MOBA  Pensacola FC  Alabama FC  Rangers Ladies FC  Baton Rouge United  MS Blues SC  ISC Gunners FC  OSA XF  Eastside FC  Westside Timbers  Vancouver TSS Rovers  Eugene Timbers FC Azul  California Storm  MVLA Wolves  Primero de Mayo  San Ramon FC  San Francisco Nighthawks  Marin FC Alliance  Pleasanton RAGE  Players SC  Players North Soccer Club  Utah Arrows SC  Utah Red Devils  Beach Futbol Club  LA Surf Soccer Club  Legends FC  Pateadores  So Cal Union FC  FC Tucson  City SC  SC del Sol  San Diego SeaLions  San Diego Parceiro  San Antonio Surf  Gretna Elite Academy  SFG Lady Demize  San Diego Surf  FC Boulder  Colorado Rapids Women  Indios Denver FC  Vancouver Island FC  PacNW  Spokane SC Shadow  Invictus Athletic Club Feminae  ASC San Diego  Albuquerque FC  FC Arizona  Utah Royals FC Reserves  SouthStar FC  Mankato United Soccer Club  Rochester United FC  Salvo SC  Pensacola FC Academy  Charlotte Eagles  Wake FC  Chattanooga Red Wolves SC  North Alabama SC  Orlando Kicks FC  Green Bay Glory  NJ Wizards SC  CAFC Ospreys  OPSA Magic  Philadelphia Lone Star FC  Dayton Dutch Lions